The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 9, 2011, 11:42 PM   #1
Rustle in the Bushes

How to "wing it"

Im fairly new to this game and was wondering about bullet/powder combinations that one is unable to find in a book. for example I have data for a 174 gr fmjbt but I DONT have data for 174 gr HPBT. Are these similar enough to use the data listed for the FMJBT for the HPBT?

Does the brand of bullet matter as well? how does the crafty reloader safely figure this stuff out?
Old August 10, 2011, 12:48 AM   #2
dmazur

I'm relatively new as well (maybe 10 yrs experience...), but I believe you can safely use load data for bullets of the same weight and similar profile from different manufacturers.

Notes:

1. Lead data is not the same as jacketed data, even if the profile is the same, due to higher friction developed by jacketed bullets.

2. If a bullet has a gas check, it is for a reason. You can't substitute a similar bullet without a gas check.

3. Boat-tail bullets often have different data than standard jacketed bullets of a similar profile. (Due to shorter contact area with the boat-tail.)

4. COL may vary between manufacturers even for similar profiles, if the profiles are not exactly the same.

5. All copper bullets have different data than jacketed lead bullets.

An example of this is Hornady 150gr FMJBT bullets, used in .30-06 for a Garand. The COL is far shorter than that of the military surplus 150gr cartridges, but both bullets are full metal jacket and both are 150gr.
Old August 10, 2011, 07:54 AM   #3
Jim243

Quote:
Are these similar enough to use the data listed for the FMJBT for the HPBT?
Yes, for same weight bullet, use the same data but start at MIN powder and work up in small increments.

Quote:
Does the brand of bullet matter as well