The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 24, 2024, 08:37 AM   #1
lwestatbus

What VOLUME of Powder (TiteGroup)

I need to check on the volume of powder I should be getting with lite loads using Hodgdon TiteGroup powder. I am brand new to handloading and only yesterday I set up my new Lee Classic Turret Press. I set up disks for .38 special and .44 special and loaded ten rounds of each. I am concerned that the volume of powder I had at the suggested weight was very low and would appreciate a reality check before I try to send these rounds down range. I also have a second question for what to do when the specs of your components don't match anything in the reloading info.

I decided that I should use 3.2 grains of powder for the .38 special and 4.0 grains for the .44 special (but see question #2). In both cases the volume of powder was waaayy less than could have fit in the case. My Lee die sets came with a 0.5 cc measure and this measure exceeded the weight I was loading. I'd done a lot of research before committing to my set up and encountered warnings about loads that filled cases too high that bullets would not seat. That will never be the case here.

Q1: Is 3.2 grains of this powder a very small volume?

I used a powder trickler into the pan of a Lyman balance bean scale and verified some of the throws on a Hornaday electronic scale. The weights were spot on. I calibrated both scales using a Lyman test weight set.

Q2: What do you do when the combination of caliber, case, bullet weight and style, and powder don't match any published data?