The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 6, 2010, 12:10 PM   #1
ThunderChicken

New to reloading, case lube questions

Howdy!

I'm brand new to reloading. And after purchasing reading the Speer, Hornady and lyman manuals, I purchased the Lee Breech Lock challenger kit.

I have purchased the dies for my calibers as well as the Lee Case Length Gages and Shellholders for them.

I'm just about ready to begin to test my operation and do some practice loads without powder but I have some concerns about the case lube.

It seems there are many different opinions on the lube process, type and application. What would be the best for a beginner?

I have read that you need to put the correct amount on the case, not too little and not too much. How does one know when they have enough on the case without putting too much on?

Thanks for your help!

JC
Old February 6, 2010, 12:20 PM   #2
IllinoisCoyoteHunter

Welcome to the forum! It depends what kind of cases we are talking about here. Give us a little more info and we can help you out!

~NRA LIFE MEMBER~
~NRA CERTIFIED INSTRUCTOR~
Old February 6, 2010, 12:25 PM   #3
grumpa72

I have only been reloading for about 18 months and, as suggested, it depends on what you are reloading.

If you are doing pistol with carbide dies, then no lube is required. If you are doing rifle, then lubing is required. This is what I bought and use on my .223 - http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/te...equestid=53126

You need to give more info.
Old February 6, 2010, 12:33 PM   #4
ThunderChicken

This would be for reloading .223 and 30.06 calibers.

I have the carbide dies for my pistol reloads as well.

Thanks!

JC
Old February 6, 2010, 12:38 PM   #5
DaveInPA

I use Dillon spray lube. I throw all the cases in a box, spray them, shake the box, spray them again, shake the box again. Wait 5 minutes then resize them all. Then I tumble them to remove the case lube.