The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 21, 2008, 07:41 AM   #1
Jack O Spades

reloading .45-120

has anyone ever reloaded the .45-120? Im looking into picking up an 1874 sharps replica, the Quigley rifle, yeah you know the one Im talking about. Anyway the ammo for that is over $6 a round. I could take a kick in the "you-know-whats" once for a 20 round box at $125 as long as theyre reloadable. Would this take the same bullet as the .45 colt? I dont have a recipe book or anything and Im not sure on the actual measurement of the bullet itself in thousandths. Actually I guess I should try to find dies for it before I worry about what bullet will fit. Im just a beginner at reloading, in fact I dont even have a brass ammo press yet, just a shotgun press and its an antique. I bought it at an auction because I thought it would look cool in my gun room, and it does, but now Im starting to learn how to use it. After the holidays Im going to buy an RCBS single stage press kit to get me started and go from there. Any tips would be appreciated
Old December 21, 2008, 08:16 AM   #2
GoldenRoyBoy

Now we're talking!!!

The 45-120; what can I say? I simply love the caliber. I own a LoneStar Rolling Blocker, and a Sharps in this caliber. Both are tack drivers.

I recommend Trail Boss powder; keeping your charges mild. 1200 fps is really all you need. Personally, I stay away from black powders; and their substitutes.

Brass?
You will have problems finding some. Check with C. Sharps & Shiloh Sharps. Both companies usually keep a few on hand. Buffalo Arms has them too. Expect to pay over $2 per piece. Do not buy any used brass from anyone. The last time I checked, Starline didn't offer any brass for the 45-120.