The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old November 10, 2011, 11:41 PM   #1
tahoe2

black powder barrel

I have a Hawken percussion rifle in .50 cal and my buddy has an inline also in .50 cal, and I was just curious as to why the barrels are so thick? Aren't the pressures of modern smokeless powders much higher than black powder, so why can't black powder barrels be made thinner? Thanks in advance to all those that respond. In all fairness I'm new to BP!
Old November 11, 2011, 12:10 AM   #2
Ideal Tool

Could be to prevent "Davy Crocketing" them..He once told someone that he had loaded a ball so tight..he had to hammer it all the way down..when fired..why, that barrel just turned itself inside out!..rifling was now on the outside..(and I bet you thought fluted barrels were something new!)
Seriously, it is probably from tradition..the Hawkin rifles were made stout to survive a fall from horseback & brls. were thick walled to withstand 100gr. or more charges.
Old November 11, 2011, 12:17 AM   #3
Jim Watson

Tradition and appearance now.
But in the day, barrels were hand forged out of pretty low grade iron.
Old horseshoe nails were well thought of, the clop, clop, clop was supposed to have "condensed" the metal.
Low strength called for high thickness.

Even then it was not absolutely necessary, look at a musket, rifle musket, or fowling piece.

Had I lived back then, I would have had a nice 7 lb fowling piece. I can't see well enough without glasses to benefit from a 12 lb rifle.
Old November 11, 2011, 02:24 AM   #4
briandg

barrels back then were low grade steel. Very, very weak. Every time someone tried making thin steel barrels, well, eventually a flaw would cause the things to blow out. If you have a good enough weak spot in a barrel, let the thing pit and rust, and there's only maybe .25 inches of metal, it will blow out at black powder pressures.