The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 19, 2023, 06:14 AM   #1
NHSHOOTER

powder throwers

In your opinion what is the most reliable and accurate powder thrower for stick and ball powders?
Old March 19, 2023, 08:18 AM   #2
mehavey

Harrells' when price is no object (I have two/used constantly)
Add to that positive/easily-repeatable micrometer settings for different powers/loads

Last edited by mehavey; March 19, 2023 at 08:37 AM.
Old March 19, 2023, 02:34 PM   #3
44 AMP
Staff

I've been using the RCBS Uniflow for the past 50 years or so. Works fine for me.

Accuracy depends on the uniformity of user, understanding the right way to operate it, and that the markings are just general, not exactly what the measure throws with every different powder possible.

If I need charge weight accuracy down to a tenth of a grain, I'm weighing each charge anyway.
Old March 19, 2023, 03:09 PM   #4
Marco Califo

I like my RCBS Chargemaster Combo. It weighs each charge, and tells me if it goes over. Charge the case and it auto repeats. I like the Lyman 55 and use the Lee PPM and use them sometimes, but they do not incorporate weighing each charge in front of me.

Last edited by Marco Califo; March 19, 2023 at 11:33 PM. Reason: Fix
Old March 19, 2023, 04:05 PM   #5
stagpanther

Since I started loading 22lr I needed a precision scale with .01 grain accuracy. Because I'm a bit of an OCD type, I use it for all my charge loading now--for bigger cartridges I'll start with a conventional RCBS chargemaster powder dispenser to within a half grain and finish the load on the scale with hand-trickling. Probably a waste of time; simply makes me feel better.

Last edited by stagpanther; March 20, 2023 at 09:14 AM.
Old March 19, 2023, 05:46 PM   #6
mehavey

If we're talking any means to get powder "thrown", then the Chargemaster as discussed above.
Old March 19, 2023, 06:44 PM   #7
Unclenick
Staff

NHSHOOTER,