The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 15, 2001, 04:11 PM   #1
Eddie

I would like your advice on my plans to use my friends 1 time fired brass.
I am fairly new to reloading, I have loaded around 120 MILD .243 rounds. My LEE dies have been full lenght resizing. I believe that if I resize my friends brass and then Fire it in my rifle, I will be able to use The neck sizing dies I am planning to buy next.

Your comments would be appreciated, We don't have any forums like this in my country.

Regards
Eddie
Old January 15, 2001, 05:43 PM   #2
Bob243

Using a full lenth die or a neck size die I believe is a matter of preferance. I have always used neck sizing dies on my 243, 222, and 308, I used a full lenth size on my 270.

As far as fire forming them as long as they were 243 brass to begin with and you are reloading them for a 243, I dont think this is really going to give you any advantage. Some of the brass I am still reloading is left over from my last 243 that I had. I bought some new brass recently only because I ran out of brass to reload. What kind of brass did your friend give you? are there any visual defects, cracks in the shoulder, swelling or seperation above the headstamp?

good luck...

Bob Meier
[email protected]
Old January 16, 2001, 03:40 PM   #3
RiverRider

Eddie, once you have full-length sized your friend's brass, and you reload it and fire it in your rifle, that brass is fireformed to YOUR chamber. You should consequently be able to neck-size only with no problems.
Old January 16, 2001, 04:51 PM   #4
Quantrill

Eddie,
I agree with RR that before you use brass from 1 rifle in another rifle, it should be full length resized. Then after it has fire formed itself to the new rifle, neck sizing will be fine. Quantrill
Old January 17, 2001, 05:04 PM   #5
Eddie

Brass Resizing

Thanks for the posts.