The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 5, 2009, 01:48 PM   #1
Oddjob911

Reloading Data

Hello, I am a newb to reloading and have a question about reloading data. Should I use the data from the bullet manufacturer or from the powder manufacturer? I bought a Hornady press, and purchased .223, 55g Hornady SP bullets. Several reloading friends suggested either Hodgdon H4198 or BLC2, so I bought H4198, since the sporting goods store was out of the BLC2. However this powder is not listed in the hornady manual, so I went to the hodgdon website and printed off their loading specs for 55g bullets. Also at the suggestion of friends, I purchased Remington 7 1/2 primers but the hornady manual recommends Winchester WSR. I was told that since I will be loading to minimum specs, any small rifle primer would start me off fine. These rounds will be for plinking no more than 200yds, in a couple different AR platforms. Should I just stick with the Hornady manual recommendations for now until I get my feet wet?

Any suggestions or criticisms would help out. Thanks
Old April 5, 2009, 02:41 PM   #2
Shane Tuttle
Staff

Quote:
Should I use the data from the bullet manufacturer or from the powder manufacturer?
This subject is an ongoing debate with many. What I do is take both of their suggested loads and also take a third reference. Lyman's, Speer, etc. have reloading recipes in their books to help give you a starting point. What I normally do is take the average of the three on the lower end and go from there as long as it's about 10% below the average of max. Remember, ALL loading data is a GUIDE, not an absolute. Here's an example. This isn't for any particular cartridge:

Book 1 Book 2 Book 3
Min. 35.0gr 34.0 36

I choose 34gr as the average of the three. I do the same for the upper end. But be careful if you load to that point. Bump your loads up slowly.

Quote: