The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Old February 26, 2011, 06:44 PM   #1
RetiredMajor

Can I make a private sale of shotgun in Wisconsin?

Guys, I've been googling this for over 30 minutes and can't find an answer to my question. I'm an Iowa resident and want to sell a shotgun to a Wisconsin resident in a private face to face sale. Can I do this legally? I think it's legal, but can't find it in writing anywhere.

Any help would be appreciated.

Major

Last edited by RetiredMajor; February 26, 2011 at 07:38 PM.
Old February 26, 2011, 07:56 PM   #2
Doyle

Not directly. If both the buyer and the seller are not the resident of the same state, the transfer must go through a FLL.
Old February 26, 2011, 08:07 PM   #3
Don H

For reference:
Quote:
Q: To whom may an unlicensed person transfer firearms under the GCA?
A person may sell a firearm to an unlicensed resident of his State, if he does not know or have reasonable cause to believe the person is prohibited from receiving or possessing firearms under Federal law. A person may loan or rent a firearm to a resident of any State for temporary use for lawful sporting purposes, if he does not know or have reasonable cause to believe the person is prohibited from receiving or possessing firearms under Federal law. A person may sell or transfer a firearm to a licensee in any State. However, a firearm other than a curio or relic may not be transferred interstate to a licensed collector.

[18 U.S.C. 922(a)(3) and (5), 922(d), 27 CFR 478.29 and 478.30]

Q: From whom may an unlicensed person acquire a firearm under the GCA?