The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 5, 2012, 01:41 PM   #1
shiyfire

What are high pressure indicators on 9mm

I am new to loading pistol rounds.What are signs to watch for on 9mm brass when it's too hot?
Old September 5, 2012, 01:46 PM   #2
RampedRaptor

(:

Wait you can load too hot? J/k stick with respectable manufacturers load data and always work up.
Old September 5, 2012, 02:01 PM   #3
TheTinMan

Inspect primers for "cratering" around firing pin strike and/or "flattening". Measure case diameter just above the case head and compare fired case with resized case. How much has it expanded? Past SAAMI max for that cartridge? Hint: if the case sticks in the chamber at all, you're too hot.
Old September 5, 2012, 02:29 PM   #4
Brian Pfleuger
Moderator Emeritus

There aren't any really reliable visual indicators.

Primers are horrendously unreliable. I have loaded 357sig rounds to levels that would be about 9mm starting loads and get pierced, flattened and mushroomed primers using Federal while loads that are "stout" beyond SAAMI spec show no signs of pressure whatsoever with CCI primers.
Old September 5, 2012, 04:10 PM   #5
TheTinMan

Brian, with respect, a pierced primer is telling you that something is violently wrong.
Old September 5, 2012, 04:12 PM   #6
Brian Pfleuger
Moderator Emeritus

Yes, it's telling me that Federal primers are a bad choice in 357sig, or any other round that develops pressure levels near STARTING loads for the round.
Old September 5, 2012, 05:17 PM   #7
Mike Irwin
Staff

The slide sticking out of your forehead is always a clue...

Baby Jesus cries when the fat redneck doesn't have military-grade firepower.
Old September 5, 2012, 05:38 PM   #8
NWPilgrim

Pistol cartridges do not generate enough pressure, unlike most rifle cartridges, to give early warning on brass. If you see unusual brass deformation, imprinting the you are way too high.