The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old October 24, 2006, 02:48 PM   #1
cowboyfan

Besides your rifle what else do you carry?

This is my first year and I want to make sure that I will have everything that I will need once I get out in the field. Just let me know what you carry in your bag or in your pockets.
Old October 24, 2006, 03:01 PM   #2
FirstFreedom

Besides gun & ammo eh? I'm more loaded down than most folks, I'm sure - probably some unnecessary stuff here but:

Always List:
1. Compass
2. Head-strap miner's light (indispensable)
3. Backup flashlight
4. Wallet containing hunting license/tags
5. Gloves, headcovering, etc. (if it's cold, this includes inner and out gloves, and seriously warm headgear)
6. Trash bag to pick up trash, or put deer heart/liver into
7. Extra compass and whistle
8. 2 or more knives (one of which is accessible as a neck knife, for in case I find myself hanging from my harness)
9. Keychain with car keys, 3rd compass, multi-tool, and penlight attached
10. Twisties to attach tag to game's body
11. String to pull up bow or gun to treestand
12. Earplugs

Almost Always List:
1. .22 revolver
2. Chair or pad to sit on, if not going to a stand
3. Urine Bottle (ewww)
4. Game calls/bleat can
5. Laser rangefinder
6. Binoculars w/ harness
7. GPS Unit
8. Telescoping Bipod
9. Mouth turkey call (to simulate turkey sounds as I walk to my spot)
10. Blaze orange vest & hat if deer gun or ML season.
11. Shaded eyeglasses cover for sunny days

Sometimes List (hunt by hunt basis):
1. Granola Bar, fruit, or other assorted snackage
2. Water bottle
3. Doe estrus scent & wick (deer only, obviously)
4. Extra cover scent spray (rarely)
5. Raingear in a side-pack
6. Centerfire sidearm (rarely)
7. Tree stand harness (worn)
8. Map of hunting area (rarely)
9. Cell Phone (I *should* take this always, but don't)
10. 2-way radio/walkie-talkie (only when going far and with buddy)
11. Book to read