The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 2, 2022, 11:11 PM   #1
oldbear1950

any one have any idea how long a box of reloaded ammo can set before you shoot it?

I have located a box of 45-70 I loaded in 1983, when I was stationed in Kodiak, Alaska, was loaded for a Marlin 1895. I do not have that gun anymore, but do have a Henry 45-70. was wondering if there would be any problems. Is not hot loaded or anything like that

does hand loaded ammo, have a different shelf life than factory ammo?
Old November 2, 2022, 11:39 PM   #2
AL45

From everything I have read, many decades if stored in a reasonable environment. 1983 doesn't seem too long ago to me. That was the year I graduated High School.
Old November 3, 2022, 05:16 AM   #3
jetinteriorguy

I have shot reloaded ammunition that was over 20 years old and had no issues.
Old November 3, 2022, 05:49 AM   #4
Wag

You should be fine. Go shoot it.

--Wag--
Old November 3, 2022, 07:55 AM   #5
Woody'sDad

I have a few boxes of 30-06 I reloaded when I was 15 years old and now am 74 so you do the math---every year around the first of Jan. I make it a point to grab a few from one of those boxes and head out back to light them off--never a FTF

Now I don't run them over the chrono or see where or how they group but they do fire off reliably.
They have been stored indoors and in a 50 cal ammo box for at least the past 40 years so they are kept dry and with a steady humidity level

Guess I consider them last resort ammunition and they will probably still work long after I don't--LOL

Gary
Old November 3, 2022, 11:20 AM   #6
FITASC

I have some of my reloads from 30+ years ago and some factory from 40; no worries