The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 12, 2023, 08:11 AM   #1
Osuvet85

Primer questions

I am brand new to reloading and I am confused about primers. What primer goes with what caliber? Small pistol goes up to 9mm? When do you use a magnum primer? On a magnum round? Small rifle primers cover what calibers? Large rifle? None of the books I've looked through (Lee manual, ABCs of reloading, Beginner's Guide to Reloading) cover which primer for which caliber. Thanks in advance.
Old June 12, 2023, 08:38 AM   #2
Jim Watson

How strange, maybe you need more references.
My Lyman, Speer, and Nosler books specify primers, as does the Hodgdon website.

Primer BRAND is not critical; I have used about all US make Small Pistol in 9mm, for example.
Old June 12, 2023, 08:58 AM   #3
ghbucky

The load specifies the type of primer used.

For example, Hodgdon's online data center shows that for a 9mm using 124gr Berry's the primer is CCI 500 Small pistol (in the right hand part of the header).

https://www.hodgdonreloading.com/rel...c=true&type=53

That would be CCI brand, #500 Small pistol primer.

[edit] I suggest you re-read your Lee and ABC book. They tell you this. I'll grab them when I have the time later and point you to where those details are.

As Jim Watson said, the BRAND of primer is not critical. It is what was used during the development of the load. BUT, this is why you always develop your load by using the start data and working your way up looking for pressure signs.

Last edited by ghbucky; June 12, 2023 at 09:04 AM.
Old June 12, 2023, 09:08 AM   #4
Unclenick
Staff

Welcome to the hobby.