The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 23, 2023, 08:39 PM   #1
akinswi

Chronograph Recommendations

I have been reloading for almost 15 years. In all this time I have never owned a chronograph.

When ever I did a load development, always let the target tell me what was going on.

I was wondering what chrongraphs every one uses or if one is necessary.

Thanks
Old May 23, 2023, 09:08 PM   #2
nhyrum

One isn't "necessary" but it helps immensely. I have a competition electronics prochrono digital, and really like it. Only reason I'd ever change chronos is to get a labradar. They are able to track the bullet out and get a true bc

Sent from my SM-S918U using Tapatalk
Old May 23, 2023, 09:26 PM   #3
Carriertxv

Depends on where and what you shoot and how much you want to spend. Most of my shooting was with handguns indoor so didn’t leave much of a choice and went with LabRadar.
I have used a few other chronographs of friends and am glad that I did go with LabRadar.
Old May 24, 2023, 04:15 AM   #4
Doc Hoy

I have two low end chronographs

QKVCX which I bought through Amazon. This is a <$100 chrony which seems to be accurate and forgiving. Does not work as reliably with pellet rifle size projectiles.

Also have a CED chrony (Prolly similar to Hyrums) which runs about $300.00 now (I think). Also quite reliable with several data features that are nice. Has sun shields but I am not certain they are needed. Nice feature of this unit is that the control head with read-out is at the shooting bench even though the traps may be down range a bit.

I had two Shooting Chronys which I also liked. I shot one of them which shortened the life (to zero). These are simple units. Economical.

All of these units satisfied me but I am NOT a precision shooter. My need for MV is as much curiosity as anything else. Of the three I like the CED best, but at three times the price, that should not be a surprise.