The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 3, 2012, 09:58 PM   #1
simmonds

First Post - Looking for Advice (45 Colt)

Glad to have found this site as I have been reading lots and learning some great information.

I have been shooting my entire life in many calibers both pistol and rifle yet only just recently aquired a Rossi Ranch Hand (sawed off 1892) in 45 Colt and this will be my first lever gun and first experience with this caliber.

I am also new to reloading and have just about aquired all I need to start reloading for this Rossi rifle....errrr pistol.

A friend set me up with an old Echo single stage in fantastic condition and he updated it with a modern RCBS ram with snap in shell holder so I am good go there. I picked up the Lee 4 die set, 1000 CCI #300 primers, Unique powder and only need to find an inexpensive bullet. I will be mostly shooting steel and bottles on my property range so I would like to load light as to get as many reloads out of my brass (I have a few hundred rounds of new star brass).

While doing some Google searching I found a website, Missouri Bullets I believe, and they seem to have some fantastic prices on bulk 500 bullets for the 45 Colt. Is anyone familiar with this vendor and these bullets and could someone recommend one that would work good in my Rossi 92. My goal is to load cheap and shoot often so a light load, something easy on the brass would be great. How many reloads can I expect to get with 45 colt brass?

Sorry for the beginner questions guys and thanks for the help.

Chris
Old April 3, 2012, 10:48 PM   #2
Lost Sheep

I recommend against bottles.

Cleanup is a bear, if you care about a bunch of broken glass around. Better to use biodegradable targets. Even tin cans rust away, but glass and plastic stay forever. Charcoal briquets make a moderate puff of dust.