The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 24, 2017, 06:40 AM   #1
Poconolg

Extreme Bullets in 1911

I have been using 200gr Hard Cast SWC bullets in my 1911 for over 20 years with no problems. I use 4.6gr of Bullseye and they function perfectly and are very accurate. I tried a box of Extreme Bullets using their 200gr SWC bullets with the same load. About 1 or 2 out of a 7 round mag fails to eject. They extract from the chamber but get hung up on the slide. Went back to the Hard Cast and they worked fine. The gun is clean. Any ideas or load corrections? Thanks for any input on this problem.
Old September 24, 2017, 08:21 AM   #2
Don P

I don't see what a change in bullet would cause case ejection problems but anything is possible. Extreme bullets the same hardness?? Seating depth may be causing a bit of lead build up at the chamber end where the case head spaces at. ( bullets identical in profile)?
As you are, I once was, As I am, You will be.
Old September 24, 2017, 08:56 AM   #3
Jim Watson

You could increase the load a bit.
Higher friction of copper on steel means lower velocity, less recoil. So a heaver powder charge to restore the same velocity might help. Although 4.6 gr BE is not a powderpuff.
Old September 24, 2017, 09:57 AM   #4
higgite

Quote:
I tried a box of Extreme Bullets using their 200gr SWC bullets with the same load.
Are the Xtremes hard cast or copper plated? They make both.
Old September 24, 2017, 10:05 AM   #5
Poconolg

They are plated bullets
Old September 24, 2017, 11:43 AM   #6
kmw1954

I would bump the powder charge up .1 or .2gr.

When I start new loads with plated bullets I always start very low. To the point that some will not lock the slide back on the final round. Moving up a grain or two has always seemed to solve this problem.
Old September 24, 2017, 12:11 PM   #7
T. O'Heir