The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 27, 2010, 04:56 AM   #1
jidavies

Reloading for the .40 S&W

Hello, Im wondering if I could get help??? Im trying to find information on loading 180gr FMJ (Hornady) with Accurate #5 powder. I can not find this recipe anywhere, The recipe for the 180gr XTP is 5.9 - 6.6, I started with the 5.9 and it seemed extremely weak, my next load is 6.4 which I have not tried yet. I am fairly new to reloading and am aware of the cautions of reloading the .40 as I am loading for my Glock 22, If anybody can put me on a right track or have good advice I would be much thankful..
Old February 27, 2010, 06:41 AM   #2
M&P40

According to the Modern Reloading Manual 2nd Edition by Richard Lee for a 180 gr jacketed bullet using Accur #5 starting powder charge is 6.3 gr. NEVER exceeding 7.0 gr. OAL is 1.125. Your velocity at 6.3 gr is 902fps at 7.0 gr is 992fps. I find this manual very helpful and if your just starting out I think you will to. Better to be safe than sorry. Good luck and safe shooting.
Old February 27, 2010, 09:44 AM   #3
jepp2

The bullet length on the HP-XTP is .636"

I don't have any FMJ's on hand, but in the manual they "appear" to be the same length. You can measure to check.

Is there some reason why you don't wish to use the load data for the HP?
Old February 27, 2010, 02:01 PM   #4
jidavies

Thank you