The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old February 25, 2019, 09:00 PM   #1
TheScout

Am I doing something wrong here?

Hi all. I'm new to the forum. I've been shooting for a while now. I'm a younger guy (won't say how old) but I'm in my early adult years. Because I don't get very much range time, I resort to air rifle shooting. I've been shooting for 3 years now and something just seems off.
The main issue is my groupings. With the air rifle at 25 yards standing and open sights, I can get 3 inches on a good day (a really good day). Even with a 4x scope, a good rest and taking my time. I get 1-2 inches at best. Something seems off here. I know I'm not the best shooter, but after 3 years, I thought I should be better than that shouldn't I? Please let me know.
Old February 25, 2019, 09:14 PM   #2
std7mag

Scout,
First off, welcome to the forum!

While i'm not that familiar with airguns, it would be really hard to tell what exactly is going on.
Firstly, we can't see your shooting technique, to see if you have any bad habits. Are you gripping too tightly? Trying to twist gun to your will, or relaxed natural aim?
Proper finger position on the trigger? Proper trigger squeeze, and yes, follow through?

Also you mention nothing of your equipment.
While there are some real quality air rifles out there, there is a lot of ummm, not so quality also.
Same goes with optics. Especially with air rifles. For some reason the "recoil impulse" is hard on scopes.

"Januarary 6th insurrection".
Funny, I didn't see a single piece of rope...
Old February 25, 2019, 09:24 PM   #3
7.62 man

Yes Welcome to the forum.
You are about the age that everyone's eyes start going bad. Have you had your eyes checked? Mine are bad enough now that I have to have some kind of scope because with iron sights I can't focus on the target & keep the front & rear sight sharp enough to get any use out of them.
Old February 25, 2019, 09:25 PM   #4
TXAZ