Old November 16, 2014, 02:51 PM   #1
phudd

Making guns in the garage

This is what I like to do in my spare time:

Old November 16, 2014, 02:52 PM   #2
phudd

This one is in .40, I have used it in USPSA limited and IDPA ESP

USPSA open division gun in 9mm Major

These are a few years old. They both run.
Old November 16, 2014, 03:37 PM   #3
Roughedge

I'm impressed, I assume your not self taught.
Old November 16, 2014, 03:44 PM   #4
4V50 Gary
Staff

I'm very impressed.

Why not back plate when your milling out the channel for the op-rod spring and its guide? I'd worry about the mill pushing it over.
Old November 16, 2014, 03:59 PM   #5
TXAZ

Very impressive. How long does it take you to make one?

Cave illos in guns et backhoes
Old November 16, 2014, 05:15 PM   #6
phudd

Quote:
I assume your not self taught.
I went to school for the fine art f chip making. The gunsmithery I learned on my own.

Quote:
Why not back plate when your milling out the channel for the op-rod spring and its guide? I'd worry about the mill pushing it over.
With such a long end mill extension there was really no need. The cuts were quite small.

Quote:
How long does it take you to make one?
Hard to say. I worked on them off and on on all manual equipment.
Old November 16, 2014, 06:43 PM   #7
phudd

New top end for my old MKII I made almost two years ago

Stainless receiver, aluminum barrel (Steel liner)
I built this for steel challenge and ruger rimfire matches

Old November 16, 2014, 06:50 PM   #8
BerdanSS

Wow. That ruger is impressive.
Old November 16, 2014, 10:35 PM   #9
Ritz

That's a great piece of craftsmanship there!
Old November 17, 2014, 11:45 AM   #10
Clark

When I was a little kid, we made firecracker guns with a hacksaw and a drill in the garage.
Now we are old retired men, we make gun parts on our mills and lathes in the garage.