The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 10, 2009, 06:13 AM   #1
jesus5150

Dismantling a round

I want to drill a hole in a round so i can put it on a chain to hang from my Rear view mirror to keep gun safety on my mind at all times, but i have a few questions.

How do i get the bullet off of the casing safely?
When the powder is gone, will the primer have enough "Umph" to discharge and be dangerous?
Old February 10, 2009, 06:24 AM   #2
cgaengineer

Yes the primer will have enough umph to hurt you. Your best bet is to make a round without powder and a primer.
Old February 10, 2009, 06:26 AM   #3
jesus5150

I Have no experience in making rounds, and I only need one.
Old February 10, 2009, 06:41 AM   #4
cgaengineer

You will need to have someone make you one then. If you dismantle the round and try to replace the bullet, the bullet will be loose in the case and probably fall out...especially if its a pistol.

What caliber are you trying to make, I may be able to help you.
Old February 10, 2009, 07:15 AM   #5
jesus5150

Its A .40 Cal 165gr. with a flat top bullet. (Probably too much info, but i don't know what you need lol)
Old February 10, 2009, 07:26 AM   #6
cgaengineer

I dont have a .40 die. I plan to get one for a friend, but as of right now I cannot help you.
Old February 10, 2009, 09:28 AM   #7
Sevens

This is an extremely easy operation for anyone who is a reloader, but it's very difficult and somewhat dangerous for anyone who doesn't have the tools. Actually, without the tools, it would be horribly difficult to make this round inert and also get it put back together and look "right."

Cheapest way for you to make this happen (properly!) would be to find a reloader the next time you are at some kind of public shooting range. Reloaders are easy to find... if they have their ammo in flip-top plastic boxes rather than cardboard factory boxes, he's a reloader.