The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 31, 2023, 10:31 PM   #1
veprdude

If you had to choose- buy primers or powder?

Would you buy powder or primers first? Which one would you wait for a better deal down the road?

I'm new to reloading .308 so I looking to buy supplies now before stuff gets crazier.
Old November 1, 2023, 01:02 AM   #2
44 AMP
Staff

the way things are now, powder is often where and what you can find. Most loads, a pound of powder will load close to 150rnds or so, depending on specific charge weights.

So, one box of primers (100) one pound of powder (~150 rounds) and bullets (box of 100) plus tools is the minimum start numbers.

Everything keeps a long time at room temp. So which ever you happen to get first, just store it until you've got everything you need.
Old November 1, 2023, 05:52 AM   #3
Marco Califo

Primers.
I have lots of powders that can do the same thing. But, if I run out of LR primers, I am not loading 308.
Old November 1, 2023, 08:06 AM   #4
redhawk41

What’s on the shelf where you shop? How much are you looking to spend? Any reason why you can’t buy both simultaneously?
Old November 1, 2023, 08:21 AM   #5
Nathan

Neither. These things are beginning to pile up. That drives prices down. I’m guessing primer companies still make good money with primers under $50 and powder under $35. Nosler too needs to back off to more realistic ABLR prices.
Old November 1, 2023, 10:10 AM   #6
FrankenMauser

Primers.
Powder can be substituted, loads adjusted, etc., even if less than optimal.
I can even make black powder, if needed.

But I cannot reasonably make primers or come up with a substitute component.
Old November 1, 2023, 10:49 AM   #7
Marco Califo

Once you have primers, I recommend that you obtain one versatile medium speed powder. A2460, H335, H BL-C(2), and 308 150 grain bullets. You will be good for years.
Old November 1, 2023, 11:44 AM   #8