The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 28, 2019, 10:19 PM   #1
gunsforamericans

223 guidance

Im just getting into reloading and have started with 223. Im using nosler 55gr spitzer bullets and used the load data on the can of hodgon h335, which is for a 55gr spr SP, (i was under the impression that this was for all 55gr bullets). It called for 25.3 grains and an OAL of 2.20, however my OAL was 2.26 because the pamphlet that came with my die said so. They seem to shoot fine, so i loaded some more to 2.2 OAL because they fit in an ar mag better. After loading the second batch i found the nosler load data which called for 23-25gr and OAL of 2.26, So now im worried that the second batch will be over pressure. Is there an easy way to calculate chamber pressure? and is there a low velocity load i could do for shooting steel at closer ranges?
Old January 28, 2019, 10:41 PM   #2
chris in va

If you read the fine print on the bottle, it says those are MAX charges and to reduce by 10% to start. I doubt you have a dangerous load, but keep that in mind. You need to get a reloading manual such as Lyman 50th edition.

Due to ricochets, I wouldn't advise shooting steel with FMJ closer than 75 yards. Our range has a minimum distance of 100 yards.

Rifle cases need a certain minimum pressure to seal against gasses. Just load to minimum for that powder/bullet combo and be done with it.
Old January 28, 2019, 11:00 PM   #3
Troy800

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris in va View Post
Due to ricochets, I wouldn't advise shooting steel with FMJ closer than 75 yards. Our range has a minimum distance of 100 yards.