The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 24, 2009, 01:24 PM   #1
Mr.RevolverGuy

45 Colt SWC Lever Action

Has anyone had luck reloading SWC in lever actions. I am looking to buy a lever action in 45 colt to go with my S&W performance center picture below.

I have worked up some great loads with Trail Boss Powder. I have about 4000 lead SWC bullets and it would be great if these same loads would work in the lever I plan to purchase. I am loading them to an oal of 1.600' it seems length is usually the determining factor. Before I go out to the bench to try and load some up I would love to hear from the experts whom have got SWC to cycle in their lever's.

Last edited by Mr.RevolverGuy; May 24, 2009 at 03:49 PM.
Old May 24, 2009, 08:43 PM   #2
res45

Nice shooting looks like you have a great load worked up. I have no personal experience using SWC in a lever gun,from what I have read they tend to hang up and not feed as well with some rifles. You can give them a try only your rifle will determine that,but your best bet would probably be to stick with RN bullets.

I'm sure someone on the board can give you some better insight if the SWC feed or not.
Old May 25, 2009, 11:30 PM   #3
OD#3

I have reloaded a lot of 45 Colt 255 SWC for my Rossi Model 92. They were superbly accurate (I actually used to hunt groundhogs with them), and I only began handloading for them after watching those slow factory Winchester Silvertips arc through the air. I used the 45 Colt rifle data from Lyman's 47th reloading handbook and used about 10.5 grains of AA#5. This gave really good velocity out of that Model 92. Feeding was excellent, but I had to seat it deeply (crimped over the front band). Lube was liquid alox which completely prevented any leading. Good luck!
Old May 27, 2009, 06:12 PM   #4
TEDDY

45 colt