The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 6, 2021, 04:13 PM   #1
FoghornLeghorn

H335 powder loads for 5.56?

I’m working up some loads for 5.56 cal. I’ll shoot them in one of three ARs: Daniel Defense; S&W M&P 15 PC; Ruger 556. I typically load light except for semiautos where ejection is an issue.

I’m using Hogdon H335 which I’ve never used before and there’s a significant disparity in load data.

Hogdon data on the powder container (and in their Basic Reloading Manual dated 2006) is 25.3 grains for a 55 grain bullet. Hogdon data on their website is 21.3 grains starting, 22.7 grains max.

The Speer reloading manual (circa 1979) for that same powder is 25.0 grains starting, 27.0 grains max.

This isn’t unusual as I’ve observed the disparity in load recommendations throughout my 40 years of reloading. But it doesn’t hurt to ask.

These are plinking/paper punching loads as I have commercially loaded rounds for hunting and hd.

Speer says start with 25.0 grains. Hogdon’s website says start at 21.3 grains.

Speer says maximum load is 27.0 grains. Hogdon’s website says max load is 22.7 grains.

The powder container flat out gives the load as 25.3 grains.

Even Hogdon’s own references conflict.

Recommendations for a load that will enable the AR to function properly within safe parameters?
Old February 6, 2021, 05:23 PM   #2
shortround60

I use 25 grains with 55gr projectiles and have always been happy with the results.
Old February 6, 2021, 05:26 PM   #3
ms6852

Depending on the type of bullet being used, if it is Nosler, Speer, Hornady, etc, I use the recommended data used by the specific bullet manufacturer. Otherwise if data is not available I use the powder manufacturer data.
Old February 6, 2021, 05:35 PM   #4
jpx2rk