The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old November 5, 2006, 11:14 PM   #1
imq707s

What would cause these cases to split??

I went to the range over the weekend to run some rounds through my Ruger Mark-II M77 rifle in 7mm Remington Magnum. I've been reloading rounds for that gun for several years without any problems.

While at the range, I pulled 4 rounds out of my case and fired them. After I was finished, I looked at the brass and noticed that 2 of the rounds had split around the base of the case. These are the same loads I've always ran, but I though that maybe I just had few week cases….or I had reloaded that batch one to many times. After looking closer at the rounds, I noticed that the other two rounds that did not split had rings around the base....it looks like they were just about ready to split.

Well, after I saw those cases......I decided to switch over to some brand new in the box Federal store bought rounds. I fired two of those through the gun and noticed that they had the same rings around the base…it looks like they were ready to split out also. What would cause this???

After I got home I went through all of my brass from rounds that I had previously fired through the rifle, and none of them had those rings around the base of the cases….even cases that had been reloaded 6+ times.

What is causing this??

Here are some pics.

Old November 6, 2006, 01:51 AM   #2
Kivaari

case stretch

Well I'd want to headspace it first..

I'd also look at the extractor to make sure that it is not "holding" the round by the rim when it's breeched for some reason..Could have a lot of debris at the collar connection not allowing the extractor all the way forward. However, I'd think there would be feeding issues with this...

quality SKS trigger tuning / repair

www.kivaari.com
Old November 6, 2006, 02:02 AM   #3
kozak6

Can we get a picture of the base of the cartridges?
Old November 6, 2006, 02:59 AM   #4
MisterPX