The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 29, 2010, 02:01 PM   #1
Trapperbk

Help with 30-06 load...

I am fairly new to reloading and I am trying to work a load for my 30-06 Howa. I started with 49 grains of IMR 4064 behind a 150 grain Hornady interlock bullet. Accuracy was excellent, and no problems. When I stepped up to 50 grains behind the same bullet this is what I found. Two shots cut each other, and one hit 3 inches low. I shot another 3 shot group and the same thing happened. The data sheet I have from Hodgdon shows 51 grains as a max load. Do I move on to 50.5, or 51 grains, or go back down. Seems strange that two shots touch each other, and a thirs strays. Any help is appreciated.
Old July 29, 2010, 02:04 PM   #2
DiscoRacing

Is your barrel floated??
Old July 29, 2010, 02:04 PM   #3
rwilson452

Quote:
I am fairly new to reloading and I am trying to work a load for my 30-06 Howa. I started with 49 grains of IMR 4064 behind a 150 grain Hornady interlock bullet. Accuracy was excellent, and no problems. When I stepped up to 50 grains behind the same bullet this is what I found. Two shots cut each other, and one hit 3 inches low. I shot another 3 shot group and the same thing happened. The data sheet I have from Hodgdon shows 51 grains as a max load. Do I move on to 50.5, or 51 grains, or go back down. Seems strange that two shots touch each other, and a thirs strays. Any help is appreciated.
Trapperbk is online now Report Post
I would try 48.5 gr. and 49.5 gr. first.
Old July 29, 2010, 02:05 PM   #4
jimbob86

Powder measurement exact/consistent? seating depth? Crimp?
Old July 29, 2010, 02:09 PM   #5
Trapperbk

Barrel is floated. Seating depth is the same, and usind rcbs dies. No crimping except from seating die.
Old July 29, 2010, 02:11 PM   #6
Brian Pfleuger
Moderator Emeritus

If you want to find the most accurate load, do this.
Old July 29, 2010, 02:20 PM   #7
sserdlihc