The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Closed Thread

Old February 10, 2024, 07:23 PM   #1
liv4spd

What is the appeal of Glock handguns?

I'm new to the gun world. It seems like Glock is one of the most popular handgun brands. I can understand it is a very reliable brand. Other than that, what is the appeal of Glock handguns.

I tired a Glock 19 once, and find it to be extremely boring. On the other hand, I'm fascinated with guns made by other brands like Sig Sauer, Walther, Ruger, CZ, etc.
Old February 10, 2024, 07:24 PM   #2
TunnelRat

Consider that there are people that aren’t bothered by a firearm being boring.
Old February 10, 2024, 07:33 PM   #3
JohnKSa
Staff

There are a lot of solid options out there. You should get a gun you like, and you should be able to do that and still make a really good choice given the huge variety available these days.

Speaking for myself, I bought my first Glock because I wanted a 10mm handgun, and at the time there were LITERALLY only two choices. I don't mean there were only two good choices, there were only two handguns on the market chambered in 10mm at the time. One was getting bad reviews for durability issues so I went with the Glock. I was impressed with its simplicity and functionality so I bought another one.

Then there was a lot of misinformation about them so I spent a good deal of time learning everything I could about them just to find out what the situation really was. I continued to be impressed with them, the more I learned.

I don't call Glock my favorite brand and I don't consider any of my Glocks to be a favorite handgun. I have other handguns I like more, that I find more interesting and/or exciting and I also own other handguns that I trust and will rely on like I rely on Glocks.

For example, I have 3 guns that I carry based on what I can get away with in terms of concealment. One of them is a Glock. The other two are different brands.