The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old July 15, 2023, 06:18 PM   #1
georgehwbush

ar-10 accuracy, what is to be expected from a factory upper?

just bought my first at-10 and was wondering if i could expect anywhere close to the same accuracy from this gas gun as i get from a factory bolt gun of like caliber.

i have been shooting a savage 243win for several years now. just sold it and bought a new ar-10 in 243win, havent had time to work up a load yet. but was hoping that it would be somewhere close to the same. is that just wishful thinking ?
Old July 15, 2023, 06:45 PM   #2
DubC-Hicks

It completely depends on brand, barrel, and ammo. My factory built Saint Victor 308 is a 16" and I'm lucky to squeeze 2 MOA out of it with Federal GMM 168s, but the 308 I built using a not fancy at all Ballistic Advantage 20" nitrided heavy barrel will do 3/4 MOA with the same ammo.
Old July 15, 2023, 06:54 PM   #3
georgehwbush

updated

so basicly you are saying that sub MoA should not be unreachable with a 24" SS 1:8 sporter and hand loads in the 100 to 115 grain range ? yes ?

that is what i was "hope'n for" when i bought it.

and thank you for your response. btw
Old July 15, 2023, 07:56 PM   #4
stagpanther