The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 26, 2011, 02:53 PM   #1
missesalot

New Guy, free press, can it be saved?

hey guys, i am new to rifle shooting for the most part but have been getting into shooting my .204 more and more over the last few years, and am now interested in reloading, and on a budget. I have been given an old RCBS rock chucker press by my uncle, its rusty but it seems to be all there. questions on the press:
1. how to clean it up
2. should i bother?
3. should i lube the ram?

he also gave me a RCBS scale of about the same vintage, has some corrosion on it but it looks like it would clean up ok.

also got an old reloader manual from hornady, obviously no 204 recipe.

Between getting these free and having a dozen boxes of once fired brass for my 204, i am hoping i am on to a good start to reloading on a budget. I know i need to get some tools like a deburring/chamfer tool, and the obvious supplies in powder, primers, 204 dies etc...looking for recomendations on what else i need to get, simplistic form of everything is ok for me to get started as long as there is no safety issue.
if i am in the wrong place for a beginner let me know where i should look.

thanks gents
Old December 26, 2011, 03:05 PM   #2
Don P

The sticky's have a wealth of info at the top of this section.
As you are, I once was, As I am, You will be.
Old December 26, 2011, 04:36 PM   #3
missesalot

Thanks Don,
Anything specific i should watch for As far as reviving this old press?
Old December 26, 2011, 04:41 PM   #4
lineman22-250

i would just use a good penetrating oil and it doesnt matter how bad it looks as long as it works good. are you planning on using a hand primer or the press ? and i would recomend buying bullets by bulk will cost a litter more off the start but will save in the long run.
Old December 26, 2011, 04:48 PM   #5
jepp2

Quote:
1. how to clean it up