The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old April 6, 2024, 06:12 PM   #1
timlab55

Newbie Here - AR15 questions

Newbie here, so be nice okay?
I'm new to this site, as I'm very new to the AR world. If I knew 1/2 the things you old timers know, I wouldn't of spend some crazy money (SSA doesn't pay that much)

Question: I would like to put foregrips on my AR15 with the handguards that came with my AR15. Also I would like to add a Foldable Picatinny Rail Rifle Bipod. Any suggestions?

Question: The other thing I would like to know is how to make my AR15 quite? When I shot, it sounds like a stick of 10 TNT sticks going off. Yes, I changed out the stock flash supposure with a muzzle block <---didn't help.

Thanks
Old April 6, 2024, 11:27 PM   #2
ballardw

For "quiet" is would suggest a good set of earplugs worn under a good set of ear muffs.

With a rifle bipod you likely should provide details of why you want one as there are a lot of options depending on why. I have one bipod that has legs that go to nearly 30 inches because the places I intended to shoot often have vegetation that is that tall. Some folks use a bipod just to help keep most of the rifle off the ground when not actively shooting. That doesn't require a very fancy rig.

You would have to tell use what sort of handguards you have currently, or point us to a picture to recommend anything that fits on a current rifle.
Old April 7, 2024, 05:25 AM   #3
Shadow9mm

First off welcome.

What you can mount really depends on your handguard. If its the round ridged plastic mil spec type, your options are very limited. If its metal with lots of slots, thats a great start.

Muzzle brakes generally make blast/noise worse. Flash hiders are generally better in relation to noise/blast than muzzle brakes.

Linear compensators, are the best at reducing noise/blast.