The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old September 16, 2010, 04:25 PM   #1

Antlerless only seasons

I have been hunting deer in Michigan for over 25 years and in all that time I could count on three seasons. The first was archery 10/01-11/14 and 12/1-01/01. The biggie was regular firearm 11/15-11/30. The third was muzzlestuffing, a 10 season in December. It was all so easy. About 10 years ago they added late season antlerless in Southern Michigan (about 10-14 day season after muzzleloading ended). Okay okay, I'll play along but, I was a bit skepticle that does wouldn't be the only deer hitting the ground and I thought that there were areas that didn't need the extra harvesting.

Recently, the DNR has added other hunts. Today starts the second year for the early antlerless only season. Last year it was a weekend and this year it starts today and runs through the 20th. I'm sorry but I cannot get excited about shooting a doe in September. Maybe it's because I feel the Michigan DNR does a crap job of managing the deer herd to begin with. Maybe it's because I feel they are giving in to the insurance companies' lobbyists that want the deer gone to keep claim costs down. Perhaps it's because I feel the DNR has a budget problem and is looking at their wallet as opposed to what's best for the deer herd. Maybe I'm prematurely turning in to a grumpy old man.
I remember when drawing a doe tag was a lottery win and now you can buy 5 of the cotton pickers over the counter per day.

So, am I crazy to be skepticle as to the motivation of the DNR? Does your state have doe only hunts? If yes, what do find to be the pros and cons?

Deer are amazing creatures....so please don't burn the sauteed onions and I'll pass on the steak sauce, thank you.
Old September 16, 2010, 04:38 PM   #2
hogdogs
Staff In Memoriam