PDA

View Full Version : shtf/hunting rifle, best on a $400 budget?

Wadesauce
April 29, 2013, 01:34 PM
I'm looking into a good rifle soon, something I can reliably hunt deer with and count on in a shtf situation. Preferred a semi auto, but I'm open to bolt/lever action. What do you guys think do I take on a project mosin? What's a good anti-deer caliber for shtf? I'm new to rifles so I'm ready for all opinions and general info. Me personally I have a budget of $400. I like the idea of a project rifle. Something I can make mine. Thanks all.

BigD_in_FL
April 29, 2013, 01:53 PM
$400 to include a scope or not? That makes a big difference

TX Hunter
April 29, 2013, 01:54 PM
Just from the sound of this thread I would make the asumption that Your not an experienced Hunter, and somewhat of a firearms enthousiest who is looking for justification to purchase a Rifle of sorts. In this case given Your requirements and limited budjet I would look for a lever action 30 30 or an sks. If You just need a good Deer Rifle and dont really need a mall cop toy I would get a Stevens 200 in 30 06.

scottycoyote
April 29, 2013, 02:08 PM
im going to agree with tx on this one, imo its hard to find a rifle like you are contemplating for the price level. Lever action carbines were the goto shtf hunting rifle for years and years, not tactical but would get the job done.

jmr40
April 29, 2013, 02:13 PM
You'll get more gun for the money buying a bolt rifle in 308 or 30-06. Even over a lever action 30-30. At $400 I'd look used, but the Stevens 200 or Marlin XL-7 would be at the top of my list. I'll throw the Ruger American in the mix as well, but don't like it as well.

At just over $400 if you can squeeze a bit more into your budget, look at the TC Venture, Weatherby Vanguard or Howa 1500.

RedBowTies88
April 29, 2013, 02:46 PM
SKS or Mosin Nagant.

tahunua001
April 29, 2013, 02:48 PM
I agree that $400 total does not leave much room for optics, if any.