PDA

View Full Version : Steyr M95 question


GunsAreGood
April 25, 2010, 04:57 PM
I was recently looking for some ammo (8X56r) for my Steyr M95 and was told that I could not shoot a single cartridge through the gun. I was told that you have to use the clips or strippers clips or whatever you might call them. I am pretty sure there is a difference between a clip and a stripper clip but that is a question for another time. Can anyone shed some light on me. thank you in advance.

KROIL
April 25, 2010, 05:39 PM
You will have no problem firing single rounds. The clip is not needed to make it go boom. The 5 round CLIP works by inserting from the top and after the last round is chambered it falls out the bottom. Just the oppasit from the m1 Garand. Graf's has 8x56 r ammo. Wear hearing protection cuz M95's really bark - LOUD.

KROIL
April 25, 2010, 05:42 PM
Oh , and if you do not have any clips butmilsurp.com has them. Enjoy !

GunsAreGood
April 25, 2010, 09:10 PM
Thank you so much for the input. I am not trying to contradict your information but have you actually fired a M95 without the clip. Thanks for the heads up on the website.

Slamfire
April 26, 2010, 01:32 PM
Pretty certain I have. I did not want to damage the clips.

Just open the bolt, push a round into the chamber, close the bolt, and pull the trigger.

Bang!

mpd61
April 26, 2010, 02:59 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKaYlUmrzjM

Go for it! theres clips on E-bay right now:cool:

GunsAreGood
April 26, 2010, 04:53 PM
mpd61

That video is only showing someone loading the last round and the clip dropping out the bottom. I was wondering about not using a clip at all. Thank you anyways.

slamfire

Thank you for the info. I was just told I could not do that for some reason from the guy at the gun store. It sounded a little odd to me and I wanted to find out if anyone knew the right answer. I do not believe most things I here at the local gun store anymore. I get so much mis information it is ridiculousness. thanks again.

49willys
April 26, 2010, 05:10 PM
I had to fire mine one at a time for a week and a half waiting for some clips to come in the mail.

KROIL
April 26, 2010, 06:16 PM
Sorry G.A.G -Its buymilsurp.com. And YES I have done the single round in the chamber many times. The factory Hornady and Privi-Partazan ammo is kinda expensive and under-powered so if you load your own you may want to look for dies. I got my LEE dies and bullets from Graf's and they work well in my RCBS press using Privi brass. The Lee dies come with load recipes but there are other loads to be found on the web. I have found no load books that carry 8x56r load info yet.

GunsAreGood
April 26, 2010, 09:11 PM
49willys and KROIL

Thank you both. You have eased my mind on firing a single round at a time. I have owned the Steyr for a while and have still not fired it because of not being able to find ammo. I do not reload and I do know that Hornady produces the 8x56r but there is none available in my area and they will only ship to a Hornady dealer which is going to charge me something ridiculous. Do I have to do anything with the bolt when I chamber a round. I have never shot a straight pull bolt action and it seems as the bolt would fly back when fired if nothing is stopping it from doing so. Once again thank you for your advice.

pesta2
April 27, 2010, 09:00 AM
Drawing my bolt back takes a good hernia to do it. I even dissembled it (which is not fun at all by the way) lubed and oiled, it slicked it up some but no much. Ammo is pricly. Hornady has it when you can find it, $30 for a box of 20.