PDA

View Full Version : What's your favorite rifle rest?

shredder4286
April 20, 2011, 08:50 PM
I've been considering getting one of the "lead sled" type rests to steady my rifle with at the range. In the past, I've simply used a padded block for a front rest, and a sandbag for the rear. What's your preffered method for steadying a rifle at the range?

Please include explanations as to why you're partial to the type of rest that you voted for.

That'll Do
April 20, 2011, 08:59 PM
So far all I've tried it bags in the front and rear, and that works well for me. I still want to invest in a proper rest, like a Caldwell Lead Sled, or something similar. Gotta have variety.

Ideal Tool
April 20, 2011, 09:12 PM
Hello Shredder4286. I have been using a Hart cast-iron front rest for about twenty years now. In the early 90's, I modified it with a custom windage top(Ransom base, my own machined top plate, & changed out elevation screw for a 1" Acme thread..overkill I know..but with Protector bag mounted, it's very heavy and stable. Rear bag is bunny ear protector filled with heavy foundry sand. For the single-shots with lots of recoil, I like the Bull's Bag bench model, also filled with sand.

shredder4286
April 20, 2011, 09:22 PM
Rear bag is bunny ear protector filled with heavy foundry sand.

So, with the set-up you've been using, you just set the butt of your rifle in the bunny ear rear rest, then adjust for elevation with the front rest? That sounds like it might be a better/easier way of doing things than trying to adjust the rear.

Ideal Tool
April 20, 2011, 10:46 PM