PDA

View Full Version : need optics advice for this rifle

JGPena
January 31, 2011, 07:29 PM
Hi All,
I have this Husqvarna rifle with Mannlicher stock in .243 I bought a few years back. It came with this Lyman 4x All American "Perma Center" scope you see here. I want this as an all purpose hunting rifle(coyotes, deer, maybe hogs?)
I haven't shot it many times. Before I start popping rounds, I'd lke to hear opinions about this scope if anyone knows about it. Might this scope of this age still be reliable? Were old Lyman scopes high quality? Should I just leave this scope on it, or am I better off getting a new scope for this rifle? I'm new to big game hunting so I'd like to get input.

375NE
January 31, 2011, 07:43 PM
Great buy... shows a little style to be different... I got a Mannlicher with a 4x Perma-centre scope and went and bought a vintage Ziess so I could get a 6x scope... turns out that the Mannlicher liked the Perma-Centre due to it's tube length.... Nothing wrong with them at all... period scope with rifle. Later scopes will give longer eye relief and optional power increase... thats all... try this first, then decide.

enjoy

:D

.300 Weatherby Mag
January 31, 2011, 07:54 PM
There are two reasons to leave that scope on that rifle...

A. You don't have the $$ to replace it.
B. You like how it complements the classic look of the rifle.

Otherwise I would replace it with a modern optic..

pabuckslayer08
January 31, 2011, 08:02 PM
That scope probably still works but for a nice budget scope the Nikon Prostaff series is very good. On sale for 100 bucks at cabelas, for that price they are tough to beat

Saguaro Firearms
January 31, 2011, 10:53 PM
if that scope works id leave it on there, honestly thats a sexy lookin rifle, and to have a scope that fits the era of the rifle just makes it that much better,