PDA

View Full Version : $ 320 decent-fair-good price for Rem 700?

tarheellefty
October 24, 2006, 03:56 PM
I am just starting to look for a short action rifle to use the action for a F class rifle for my son. I'm brand new to the idea . we shot this weekend;my sons 223 savage (STOCK) held great elevation (x ring (6 inches ) 10 in a row and 10 ring (12 inches) 38 of 40 shots (2 20 shot strings)) but even a mild wind whipped him bad. so I'm thinking of a 6mmBR in a short action and a laminated Fclass /benchrest type stock. I looked on auction arms and guns america, I didn't see as many "donor type" rifles as expected.What I saw was more long action /magnum. I stopped at a local store and saw a Synthetic stocked Remmy 700 in 308 for $320 . It was in good enough shape that I'd almost feel guilty (key word is ALMOST) about stripping it- I just want action and trigger. After surfing the 'net and calling couple shops, I got the idea that so many people are looking for "donors " I might not do a lot better . Fortunately I have time . NO patience , but time . I would consider Remmy, Winchester ( unlikely , everyone thinks they're solid gold since "no more will ever be made" ), or Savage . I think I'll ask my gunsmith about getting a new Savage hunting package for the action , accu-trigger , and a cheap scope (useful for something else - kill 2 birds w/ 1 stone ). I welcome y'alls opinion too. I'm not going top of the line , but the target is along the lines of the article on 6mmBR.com about a $1200 rifle ( good read).
TIA

TPAW
October 24, 2006, 09:52 PM
Fair, Sports Authority by me has the Rem. 700 ADL with synthetic stock and cheek piece with scope in 30.06 for $369.

tarheellefty
October 25, 2006, 12:11 PM
I assume that has the trigger lock? That's lower than I thought it would be; I figured only model 710s (pressed barrels, no good for project) would start new with a 3.....thanks for info.

GeoW
October 25, 2006, 02:41 PM
Never.... NEVER, shoot the donor. :D

GeoW