The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Curios and Relics

Old April 3, 2015, 04:23 PM   #1
BoogieMan

Tell me about the SMLE I just bought, pics

I traded a set of bull horns and $100 for this No4 Mk I serial numbers matching 25C794x, marked 1942. Has S cartouche on stock, mag, rear band. Receiver is marked US Property. Beautiful bore, fair finish overall, even the stock is not bad. The safety is missing, the spring for extractor is gone. And my only real concern is the bolt faced looks like it could have been faced (on a lathe). The story I got with it was of little help. What can you tell me about my purchase?

Old April 3, 2015, 04:57 PM   #2
reloder56

I'm by no means an expert on WWII British small arms, but I do remember an article in "Guns & Ammo" magazine in which contributing columnist Garry James mentioned that Savage Arms Co. manufactured SMLE Mark IV's for the Lend Lease Act. These weapons were marked with a large font "S" and "US Property".
I'm sure others more knowledgeable than myself will expand upon what i have relayed to you. Parts needed to return your specimen to shooting condition are readily available from Sarco, Numerich, Bob First, etc. Regards, Gary
Old April 3, 2015, 05:10 PM   #3
kilimanjaro

The bolt face looks alright from the photo, can't see any difference between it and the No. 4 bolt on the one I've got out of the safe for the weekend.

You got a good deal for $100 and some stuff.

Given all it's parts, these are running $400. The Savage is the best made No. 4 rifle, that and the Canadian from Long Branch.

As mentioned above, parts are available from the surplus houses. Get some spares.
Old April 3, 2015, 06:25 PM   #4
BoogieMan

Seller said it was 30-06. I pulled bolt and dropped a cartridge and no surprise its not even close. I am going to assume it's 303. Anything in particular about the US. Versions I should be aware of?
Old April 4, 2015, 09:35 AM   #5
wogpotter