The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old October 31, 2007, 01:40 PM   #1
Jkwas

Best standard velocity 22lr ammo

I'm just getting into the "22 thing", and I was curious: What are some good standard velocity 22lr ammo, and what are the ones to avoid. Also, Is Lead better than plated? I'm getting a S&W 22A, and I've searched it out a little, most say stay away from the higher velocity ammo. What constitutes standard velocity ammo? What's the fps difference?
Lot's of questions, I know, but I'm new at this stuff.
Old October 31, 2007, 01:52 PM   #2
IM_Lugger

I preffer plated...cleaner to shoot

As for as reliability it will depend on a gun itself. Each .22 has it's favourite ammo. just buy a buch and test it all!

there's nothing wrong with hi-vel ammo it may not be as accurate but if you need a .22 as a bug hard to beat CCI Velocitors...
Old October 31, 2007, 03:37 PM   #3
MrBorland

As eluded to, the "best" rimfire ammo is the one that your gun like the best. You'll have to buy a bunch of different stuff and try them all out. Many feel this is the fun part of rimfire shooting. My personal favorite is Federal 714 Target from Dicks. $15/brick. The bulk Federal 550 from Walmart may not be that bad, and is very economical. There are lots of others to try, though.

Is lead "better"? For accuracy? Don't think there's a clear advantage of one over the other. Some find plated bullets cleaner. Also, in a rifle like the Marlin 39A with microgroove rifling, there's some concern the lead from unplated bullets can gum up the shallow rifling.