The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 13, 2001, 12:20 PM   #1
Calcitanium

new 550

Took a new Dillon 550 home a few days ago, mostly on the recommendation of TFL members. I am a complete beginner to loading.

Did get some primer jamming in the first 50 or so (not feeding from magazine) and one went in backwards (I suppose operator error, dunno).

Took my first 100 of .45 ACP to the range and they all went bang, which was a pleasant surprise (after all, I am acquainted with the machine operator).

Couple nights ago did 50 more, and they all went smooth. So far I'm using all used brass. I'm looking forward to trying SWC soon. And later, .40 and .308.

What should be the next (hopefully not too pricey) gadget I should buy? I took the 550 home without many bells/whistles ... or probably without many "necessities" frankly. I don't have anything for cleaning brass. I do have a slide caliper. Don't have a powder sensor or strong mount. No chronograph.

Thanks to those of you who pointed me toward the Dillons!
Old June 13, 2001, 08:47 PM   #2
Rottweiler

Got a primer flip tray? Handy little beastie. Not too pricey. IMHO the Dillon one is over engineered(most Dillon stuff is...this is not a bad thing )over rated and over priced. The RCBS one I have had for 10+years does just as good of a job as the Dillon one the wife bought me for my birthday a couple years ago
Old June 13, 2001, 11:06 PM   #3
tawakoni

Wow! This could be a long list! Little gadgets seem to accumulate.

The flip tray Rottweiler suggested is a good idea. I am still using the one I got from RCBS in 1964, couldn't get along without it.

I trust you have a good scale and a couple of reloading manuals you have studied. You don't need a high-dollar digital scale, a good balance beam scale will be fine.

I just got a kinetic bullet puller today. Wanted one for 25 years and finally got it. $8.95 from Midway USA.