The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old January 23, 2014, 12:21 AM   #1
Bgoody

Need Info>>Ben Shostle engraved model 66

Hello, I'm new to the whole "forum" thing. Didn't know where else to turn for some info on an engraved S&W model 66. Engraved by Ben Shostle. I came across this gun about 4-5 years ago. Got it for $1100 I believe. Looking for any info on the engraver, and value. I have no intentions of selling but am just curious if I paid too much, or got a good deal . I will try to post a pic if I can figure it out. Any info is greatly appreciated!
Old January 23, 2014, 08:52 AM   #2
Bgoody

Pics

Here are the pics of the gun. Finally figured out how to post them.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (90.0 KB, 150 views)
Old January 23, 2014, 03:45 PM   #3
Sevens

I'm no expert, but at least your thread gets bumped to the top with my reply!

Generally speaking, engraving on firearms typically only raises the "collector value" when the engraving was done from the manufacturing factory and as originally ordered in the original production of the gun. Typically, such engraving was offered many years ago and not so much recently. Due to the time, care, skill, etc involved, it has -NEVER- been a low-cost "option" and anything that cost more originally makes the firearm worth more now. Also tends to make them more rare since so few people could justify the (sometimes nearly irrational!) cost associated with it.

Bottom line is that typically, a firearm that's been engraved outside of the factory and wasn't typically ordered and shipped by the manufacturer as such is simply ornamental and has value only to a buyer who... likes it.

And, perhaps even more of a bummer, if the firearm was one that was highly collectible in the first place, aftermarket engraving well outside of the original manufacturer absolutely hurts the collectible value.