The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old October 19, 2013, 09:21 AM   #1
The Rattler

Best Personal Defense Rounds

I have S & W L frame 686 and j frame 642. I'm relatively new to handguns & want the best personal defense rounds for them. So far, it seems that the weight of the bullet is of prime importance; e.g. 125 grain, 130, and 135 grain. Hornady touts its polimar tip preventing clothing from stopping the bullet expansion, but it is only 110 grain bullet. They may not penetrate enough. There are also 150+ & 180+ grain, but I have heard they are so big, the may not expand at all.

Can your voices of experience help me sort through all of this?
Old October 19, 2013, 09:34 AM   #2
militant

Remington 125 gr jsp or whatever you can shoot the most accurate.
Old October 19, 2013, 09:39 AM   #3
Yankee Doodle

What I can tell you is this. In my 642, all I carry is the 135 gr. short barrel load. Keeping in mind that this load was developed at the request of the largest PD in the world, and they made the rules as to what they wanted, I feel quite confidant it will do exactly what I want it to.
Recoil is sharp, and takes a bit of getting used to, but I have no doubt as to the effectiveness of the load.
As for the L frame, the old FBI load should be just dandy.
Old October 19, 2013, 10:55 AM   #4
IdahoG36

In .357 magnum, I carry the Federal 125gr jhp loading, box code 357B. This loading has an excellent track record in real world use. It has the highest percentage of one stop shots out of any loading in any caliber.
Old October 19, 2013, 11:23 AM   #5
Mike Irwin
Staff

I've started carrying Speer 135-gr. +P Gold Dot.

Shot some out of my 2" Model 042 into a trashcan full of water. Expansion was excellent.

Baby Jesus cries when the fat redneck doesn't have military-grade firepower.
Old October 19, 2013, 11:28 AM   #6
engineer88

I will tell you what I keep on hand and then offer you a bit of advice.