The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old August 13, 2013, 07:56 AM   #1
JKump

10mm or 44 mag for Georgia Deer

With hunting season around the corner and my son taking my hunting rifle, I thought about getting another Hunting handgun. Have been using a .357 mag for years (with succes for Georgia deer) but wanting to step up to something different /bigger. I have heard forever that the 44 mag is the way to go.
But as a Police officer I shoot autos very well (currently carry a Glock daily) and thought about a Glock 20 (perhaps Gen 4 or SF).
I know everyone asks for "background" so, currently using a Taurus Tracker 357 mag in bow ranges. Shooting 158 grain Federal Fusions.
For a 10 mm I would get a Glock 20 and thought about getting a Lonewolf extended slide set up.
As for a 44 mag, I thought on a Taurus Raging Bull or possible a Ruger Super Blackhawk Bisely Hunter. (or if I could find one at a reasonable price a S&W stealth Hunter).
Thoughts on it. 10 or 44? And why?

"Everyone has a game plan until they get punched in the mouth".
Old August 13, 2013, 08:24 AM   #2
Quickdraw Limpsalot

Pick one. Pick both! I personally tend to shoot Ruger revolvers a touch more accurately than most autos, probably mostly due to the longer sight radius.

If you can keep your hits where you want them with your Glock at hunting ranges and you're used to taking deer with a .357, I don't really see how you can go wrong with the 10mm.

If you're just looking for "bigger," you'll love the .44. It's a fantastic short range deer round.
Old August 13, 2013, 09:35 AM   #3
1tfl

If you are going to reload the 10mm then it will do what you want. IF you are going to shoot just factory ammo get the 44 mag. Around here 10mm ammo is hard to find and most of it is down loaded to 40 S&W power range.
Old August 13, 2013, 09:48 AM   #4
JKump