The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old July 5, 2013, 04:22 PM   #1
Big Tom

.454 Casull and .45 LC question

Hi guys, so I am moving to Kentucky next month and I just picked up a Ruger Vaquero in .45 LC. I was wanting a Lever in .454 Casull and didn't know if A) I could also us .45 LC's in it at the range, and B) If the .454 lever would be good for Hogs and White Tail. Please let me know. I intend to carry my Vaquero loaded at my side in case I am attacked by a hog, or some other critter or if I need to dispatch something at close range. I am new to hunting and trying to get into Medium game. I love the cowboy guns too. Please let me know guys and thank you in advanced!
Old July 5, 2013, 04:41 PM   #2
Old Stony

Speaking from experience, you must not be one of us old guys. Anyone that can spend a day hauling around a rifle along with a heavy single action on his hip has to be young and full of beans. I'd opt for a much lighter sidearm as you probably have more chance of getting attacked by chiggers in that country as you would by hogs.
Old July 5, 2013, 04:50 PM   #3
ligonierbill

Someone else can no doubt give you a better answer, but on A) I imagine you could fire .45 Colt. The difference in case length may affect feeding, however. Question B) .454 will sure kill 'em quick, but so will .45 Colt. The idea of a revolver and rifle firing the same cartridge goes back a long way, and at woods range the old .45 is plenty. (Though in the day, no rifle was ever chambered for it.) If you're set on a pistol caliber lever carbine, I won't talk you out of it, but I don't think .454 Casull is necessary. I can tell you that hunting in western Kentucky, we had both thick woods and stands at the edge of fields where a 300 yard shot was very possible. Like I said, if you're set on a pistol caliber, go for it. But there are plenty of good rifle calibers available, including the good 'ole 30-30.
Old July 5, 2013, 04:50 PM   #4
Big Tom