The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old February 5, 2013, 07:05 PM   #1
arch308

Combat Commander

I recently aquired a Combat Commander 70 series. First trip to range I had one misfire and two failure to completely return to battery using my reloads. I decided to replace all springs just because of the age. Now, I'm new to 1911's and this was my first teardown to this extent. It was very interesting to say the least. After a few problems I got it back together and it seems to function great, although I haven't had a chance to get to the range.
My question concerns the mainspring. The one that came out was quite a bit shorter than the new one( as were all of them). The original looked as if it had been cut/shortened and was quite a bit shorter/weaker. When I put the new spring(Wolff) in the hammer seemed excessively stiff. Is there some sort of tweeking going on here or should I leave the spring as it is. I'm refering to the hammer spring.
My love affair with 1911's is realitively new but I'm learning. Any advise would be greatly appreciated guys. Thanks.
Old February 5, 2013, 07:50 PM   #2
Dfariswheel

It's common for owners to either cut or replace the mainspring to get a lighter trigger pull.

Cutting the spring is not a good idea, especially now that you can easily find lighter springs everywhere.
In fact, lightening the mainspring doesn't have that much effect on trigger pull weight, you get more by bending the flat sear spring.
However, this also increases the problem with the hammer following the slide down.

If you read much on the gun forums you'll find a LOT of posts about "My hammer is following the slide, what's wrong"? In most all cases someone has attempted to get a lighter trigger pull or it's a factory gun that came with a lighter pull and they got it wrong.