The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 31, 2011, 06:37 PM   #1
SD_Chop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 5, 2006
Location: Va, USA
Posts: 474
AR15 SBR questions

So i am in the process of re doing my ar. I have a RRA Entry Tac A3 with some acc's and mods. I have the forms for ATF and want to convert it to a SBR. My question is, should i purchase a full upper or can i just put in a 10.5" barrel? Do i have to change any of the operating system if i just swap the barrel out? Will it fit my current hand guard. This is my first SBR build. Or do i need to purchase the full upper and throw that on my RRA lower. Also for the ATF do i just supply the SN from my lower and once approved buy the SBR upper or barrel?

Thanks
__________________
Liberty or Death...
SD_Chop is offline  
Old January 31, 2011, 07:10 PM   #2
5RWill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 20, 2008
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 2,654
I might be wrong but i think you can use your carbine length gas tube. The hanguards might work..i'm not positive on that one. But yes you should be able to change out your barrel, use the existing gas tube, and you'll need to add a gas block. It might seem easier right now, but are you wanting to get rid of your RRA and just have a SBR? If your not i would just build or buy another upper.

I can't answer for the ATF forms haven't gotten to fill mine out yet
5RWill is offline  
Old January 31, 2011, 10:04 PM   #3
Ridge_Runner_5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 8, 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,925
10.5 and 11.5" barrels use a carbine gas system, and complete uppers (which is easier on so many levels) are usually set with a front sight post and carbine handguards
Ridge_Runner_5 is offline  
Old January 31, 2011, 10:07 PM   #4
10mmAuto
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 13, 2010
Posts: 598
Would be way easier to buy an SBR upper from BCM.
10mmAuto is offline  
Old January 31, 2011, 10:08 PM   #5
Willie Lowman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 5, 2009
Location: Uh-Hi-O
Posts: 2,590
SD Chop, you use the serial number on your lower for your form 1 to the ATF.

You can change out the barrel in the upper that you have if you like to tinker around with your gun. It would be much easier (but more expensive) to just buy a 10" upper.
__________________
"9mm has a very long history of being a pointy little bullet moving quickly" --Sevens
Willie Lowman is offline  
Old January 31, 2011, 11:37 PM   #6
SD_Chop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 5, 2006
Location: Va, USA
Posts: 474
thanks for the responses. I was in question about the gas systems. Not new to ar platforms just have not come across this task yet. Depending on how i map this out cost wise, i would rather just buy the new upper assembly. Another question is if i choose to add a suppressor do i have to pay the tax stamp again even after paying/registering it as a SBR. Thanks fellas
__________________
Liberty or Death...
SD_Chop is offline  
Old January 31, 2011, 11:54 PM   #7
5RWill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 20, 2008
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 2,654
From what i've read you'd have to pay the tax on the suppressor once and the SBR once. But i'm not that familiar. But yeah i would run suppressed for sure.
5RWill is offline  
Old February 1, 2011, 01:10 AM   #8
Willie Lowman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 5, 2009
Location: Uh-Hi-O
Posts: 2,590
If you buy a silencer, it gets it's own tax stamp. Once you own it, you can move it from one host firearm to another.
__________________
"9mm has a very long history of being a pointy little bullet moving quickly" --Sevens
Willie Lowman is offline  
Old February 1, 2011, 07:22 AM   #9
mr renwick
Junior member
 
Join Date: January 10, 2008
Posts: 42
Sorry I don't have the website available but I found Daniel Defense 10.5 and 11.5 striped uppers for $329. I will try to round it for you.
mr renwick is offline  
Old February 1, 2011, 03:06 PM   #10
Icopy1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 1, 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 415
You might want to post your question in the NFA forum. You'll get answers from the folks who have been there.

As an aside, I recently SBR'd an MKE 94K to make a PDW clone and I couldn't believe how easy the process was. The wait time was just over 100 days including a bunch of fall holidays.

Good luck!
Icopy1 is offline  
Old February 1, 2011, 07:16 PM   #11
SD_Chop
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 5, 2006
Location: Va, USA
Posts: 474
Thanks, im gonna post it there as well. Want to do the build right mechanically and not have ATF knocking on my door for paperwork also!
__________________
Liberty or Death...
SD_Chop is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2017 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.08422 seconds with 7 queries