The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 20, 2010, 09:37 PM   #1
Beaninlv

Newby needs help

I want to reload myself, how much (ballpark) am I looking to spend for your basic setup for 9mm, .40, .45 acp and 38 special? Any brands/products I should stay away from? Thaks for all your help.
S&W 64 4" and Mossberg 12g
Old July 20, 2010, 09:41 PM   #2
Unclenick
Staff

Welcome to the forum.

Start by reading the forum sticky for new reloaders, here. It may answer all your questions. If not, it will give you more specifics to inquire about.
NRA Benefactor Member and Golden Eagle
Old July 20, 2010, 10:56 PM   #3
midnightrider

Lee makes a great turret press I have been using mine for 2 years, I love it. The single stage is good but for a beginner spend a little extra on the Lee classic turret press and learn how to use it. trust me its totally worth it. it makes realoding alot faster.

check ebay for a powder measure. you want to get a good match grade powder measure. I found a Midway brand one for around 40$ and it will throw fifty charges all the same with ball powder.

RCBS 505 scale is a awsome scale. I picked one off ebay for cheap at auction

Lee pistol dies have worked great for me and they are a great deal.

Lee primer tool also works very well.

Im not sure whats out there for case trimmers, I have a forster screwed to my bench it also works very well.

Lyman .50 cal chamfer/deburer tool I have found to work out very well. the standard size ones will break if you drop them. I have dropped mine thre or four times and it hasnt broke.

thats whats on my bench this equip has worked well for me.

your off to a great start already joining the forums and asking this stuff.
Old July 21, 2010, 08:39 AM   #4
rtpzwms