The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old February 8, 2010, 10:47 PM   #1
SempFi

quick-detach scope mounts

I Would like a set on my hunting rifle so i could have the option of using iron sights if i felt like it or if the scope were damaged on a hunt. I have no experience with these so i have a few questions:

do they hold a zero?

good type or brand?

durability?

tip?
Old February 9, 2010, 08:23 AM   #2
Doyle

I use a Leupold QD set on my Rem Model 7. It will hold zero reasonably well, but I would not trust it to hunt with before re-zeroing. I bought it to be able to go to iron sights in the case of a damaged scope in the field. Going from scope to irons is OK. Going from irons to scope with out rechecking zero is asking a little much.
Old February 9, 2010, 08:36 AM   #3
KMO

Weaver Worked for Me

I just recently went down this same road, although my search for QD rings was for a Ruger Mark III .22LR pistol. I wanted to retain use of the cool factory fiber optic front sight, but I also wanted to mount a red dot sight on the pistol. I ended up with some QD rings offered by Weaver, the type with thumb screws. I've given it a try, and the pistol held zero just fine after removal & reinstall of the sight & rings as a single unit. A rifle is a different story, though. I did look at some nice lever-type steel QD rings offered by Warne. They were really top-notch, but too heavy for my pistol application. I wouldn't hesitate to try the Warne rings on a rifle. E. Arthur Brown had them in stock... http://www.eabco.com/Warne01.html You might also consider the see-through type rings...I've had good luck with those as well...
Old February 9, 2010, 09:02 AM   #4
AK103K

I've used a couple of different lever set ups made by ARMS with good results. They do require a Picatinny type base though.