The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old January 16, 2010, 05:47 PM   #1
45Gunner

Pistol packing partners go crazy with ar-15's

Did I get your attention? My business partner and I are pistol aficionados, he being a wheel gun guy and I have an addiction to the .45ACP, namely the 1911 platform. We are professional gun Instructors, teaching various methods of handgun defense.

Today, for the first time since we have known each other, we met at an outdoor range for some AR-15 practice. I have a Bushmaster Carbine with a Trijicon ACOG scope and he had something else, another brand...not important to the discussion.

We had so much fun that we each blew off a 1000 rounds of ammo apiece. I haven't shot my AR in almost a year and my buddy says it was about the same amount of time for him.
(1.) I got to wondering, just as a matter of curiosity if you guys with AR's go hog wild as we did?

(2.) How often do you shot your AR?

(3.) Are you primarily a rifleman or are you a pistol guy that shoots rifles occasionally?
NRA Life Member
Old January 16, 2010, 06:01 PM   #2
jjyergler

Interesting question.

By profession (former army infantry) and genetics (arkansas farmboy) I am a rifleman, but I do most of my rangetime with a pistol. While in the army, we shot the M9 once, and I've never hunted with a handgun.
Hi Standard Supermatic Citation .22LR - Tincans Beware
Old January 16, 2010, 06:09 PM   #3
shooter_john

Most of all I like laying behind heavy barreled bolt guns. Second choice would be the AR's, and then pistols. I've been shooting rifles since I was 5, and my Dad has never been a pistol guy, so we just never shot pistols too much while I was growing up. With all of that said, I'm not half bad with a pistol I just shoot rifles more when I'm shooting for recreation.
Old January 16, 2010, 06:11 PM   #4
ProjectCamaro