The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old November 8, 2009, 03:37 AM   #1
TexasTechsan

Blurring reticle

Hey there folks, I'm new to the world of online shooting forums and relatively new to the world of scopes. I think I can handle the first, the second is giving me a little more trouble. So, on to the matter at hand.

Today I purchased a Mossberg 100 ATR combo package. I haven't shot it yet but as I was getting acquainted with it at home today I noticed that the reticle keeps getting blurry on me. When I first look through the scope it is very clear but then within a second or two it blurs to the point where it is almost invisible.

After a bit of experimentation I discovered that if I keep my left eye open the reticle remains clear but I would like to be able to be able to close my left eye when shooting. Logically it seems to me that it has something to do with my eye and what I am focusing on rather than the scope but I can't for the life of me figure out what I'm doing wrong. Any suggestions or ideas of what is going on?

I don't see any marking designating the scope type. It is just the one that came with the rifle. I plan on getting a better one as soon as I can afford it but as a grad student that isn't likely to be any time soon.
Old November 8, 2009, 04:12 AM   #2
PetahW

There are five possibilities:

You're slightly moving your eye out of the scope's field of view.

Your scope is mounted too far forward for your ergonomics, resulting in your eye being at the extreme limit of the scope's eye relief when the rifle's mounted in shooting position. (reposition scope)

You're crawling the stock (or the stock is too short for you), and you're getting your eye too close to the rear lens.

You have a vision deficiency in the one eye, and when both eyes are open, the "good" eye dominates, allowing what appears to be normal vision.

The scope reticle is out of focus.

Regarding scope reticle focus: