The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old December 14, 2006, 05:38 AM   #1
Indrid Cold

Non (Less) Lethal shots?

I'll admit I'm fairly new to the rules pertaining to self defense, but from what I understand (and this is a broad generalization), you're only really in the right if you have reason to believe that your life is seriously in danger. Only then are you allowed to take potentially lethal actions against your assailant. What are the rules about generally non-lethal shots? For instance, suppose my assailant was much larger than I was and advancing on me with just fists, or some makeshift weapon. Not a gun or anything, but something that could do serious harm. Would I be justified in shooting them in the leg or knee as a means to stop them? I recognize that any wound could be potentially lethal, but a shot to the knee is much less likely to kill someone than a shot to the chest or head area unless you really mess up the femoral artery. Are the self-defense laws based on lethal force, or just force in general? Thanks for any help!

Sun-tzu, The Art of War
Old December 14, 2006, 06:29 AM   #2
rmagill

To begin with, I am not a lawyer. If I were in your shoes, I would research state and local laws where you live. Self-defense and lethal force / force laws vary by state and locality.

Normally, the justification for self-defense is that a resonable person would be afraid of severe bodily harm or death, and they did not start the encounter. In other words, the other person does not need a weapon for you to be justified in shooting them.

Also, if you shoot someone, you shot someone. Legally, there is no difference between shooting someone in the leg or shooting them in the head. Bottom line: you shot someone. Now, where this does make a difference is when you are in court. However, if it is a justified shoot, a good lawyer would be able to get you out of the legal mess.